Necrology,   May 2019                 

"For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed,

we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens."

 (Listed in sequential order)

Sis. Joanne M. Gross, the mother of the Reverend Stephanie M. Atkins, Pastor of Elevation Chapel AME Church, Baltimore Conference, Second Episcopal District

Rev. James Coaxum, Jr, retired Itinerate Elder in the Seventh Episcopal District and the father of Rev. Dr. James Coaxum, III, pastor of St. James AME Church in Atlantic City, New Jersey, First Episcopal District

The Reverend Joetta Davis, Local Elder at Warren AME Church, Toledo, Ohio and wife of Mr. Samuel Davis, Third Episcopal District

Mr. Spencer R. Fairley, brother of The Reverend Thomas Fant, pastor of Park Place AME Church, Homestead, PA, Third Episcopal District

The Reverend Nancy Marita Williams Charley, local deacon, who served on staff at Ebenezer AMEC, Brunswick, MD; the daughter of the late Rev. A. Lewis Williams, Former Editor of The Christian Recorder and sister-in-law of Mrs. Delores Kennedy-Williams, Fifth Connectional President of the Women’s Missionary Society.

The Reverend Albertha Merriman, Local Elder and Associate Minister at St. Paul AME Church, Cambridge, MA, Reverend Ellis I. Washington, Pastor, First Episcopal District

Mr. Willie A. Gholston, Sr, a stalwart, longtime layperson in the Fourth Episcopal District, husband of Mrs. Pearla Gholston, the father of Rev. Willie A. Gholston, Jr, pastor of First Community AMEC Grand Rapids and Rev. Precious Gholston

Mrs. Blanchie Mosbey Dobson, the daughter of the late Rev. Lee Edgar Mosbey, a Pastor and Presiding Elder in the Thirteenth Episcopal District and the late Mrs. Ruby Harris Mosbey, a past Tennessee Conference WMS President and Episcopal District YPD Director

The Reverend Gloria Maddox, the sister of Reverend Fred Blackwell of the East Tennessee Conference, 13th Episcopal District AME Church and she was a faithful Pastor in the 13th Episcopal District over 22 year

The Reverend William F. Dancy, Retired Pastor, Fifth Episcopal District African Methodist Episcopal Church

Mrs. Ruthie Biggs, the mother of Sister Charolett B. Martin, Presiding Elder Randolph W Martin, Sr, of the Hot Springs-Arkadelphia District, West Arkansas Annual Conference, Twelfth Episcopal District

Mrs. Paulette Bailey Burris, the sister of the Rev. Cedric J. Bailey Sr., Pastor of Saint Luke AME Church, Erin, TN, Thirteenth Episcopal District

Mr. William "Bill" Ford, Jr., last living uncle of District Consultant Beverly H. Postell (Presiding Elder Henry), North Orlando District, Central Conference, Eleventh Episcopal District

Reverend Denise Rogers, human rights activist, Fifth Episcopal District African Methodist Episcopal Church

Mr. William C. Collins, Jr., the father of The Reverend Keith Lawrence Collins, Pastor of Allen Chapel, Ravenna, Ohio, Third Episcopal District

Sis. Bettye D. Bryant, Eleventh Episcopal District Women's Missionary Society President

The Reverend John H. Burns, II, pastor of First AME Church (FAME) of Farmington Hills, Michigan, Fourth Episcopal District

Dr. Julia N. Wade, wife of Dr. James M. Wade, Executive Director, Department of Church Growth and Development, African Methodist Episcopal Church

The Reverend Mary Dawson Myrick, a retired Itinerant Elder in the AMEC and member of the Florida Annual Conference in the Eleventh Episcopal District

Mr. Frederick Bell, the brother of the Rev. Larry J. Bell, pastor of Vernon Chapel-Detroit, Michigan, President of the SE Ministerial AME Alliance and member of the General Board representing the 4th Episcopal District AMEC

Elder Vernon Ogilvie, brother of the Rev. Dr. Trent Ogilvie, Pastor of Bethel Chapel AME Church, Columbia, TN and the brother-in-law of Rev. Sharon Ogilvie of Wayman Chapel AME Church, Columbia, TN, Thirteenth Episcopal District

The Reverend Arthur M. Ousley, Sr., pastor of New Journey AME Church for ten years, a successful merger, upon request, of Wayman and St. Paul AME Church in Moline, IL, Fourth Episcopal District

The Reverend Dr. Waymon T. Dixon, an Itinerant Elder in the AMEC and member of the South Annual Conference in the Eleventh Episcopal District

Lishara Janae Mosby, the niece of Reverend Anna E. Mosby, Senior Pastor, St. Jude AME Church and President of the Second Episcopal District Women In Ministry (WIM)